GOVIS Management Committee  

GOVIS is managed by an elected committee of volunteers. If you are interested in joining please talk to one of the people on the current committee (see below). We would be very happy to hear from you.

Committee members and office holders are elected at each Annual General Meeting in September. Our rules also allow for co-opting volunteers on to the Committee at other times so please get in touch. 

If you join the GOVIS committee you will be learning to work across a large community of interest. You will be a board member looking after the assets of a long established, and prudently managed, non-government organisation. When the new committee forms, people express interest in running activities such as conference, social media, events, or the online forums. You will get suppport and training from the other committee members. The Co-Presidents aim to distribute the work evenly and according to a person's interests. There is a monthly management meeting over a working-lunch where decisions are made by consensus.

Committee members are resourceful and entrepreneurial, engaging with stakeholders in government and private industry. We think strategically to deliver well-regarded services and opportunities to the State sector agencies.

Elected Committee for 2017/18

  • Rebecca Schasching (President), Department of Corrections
  • Mick Crouch, (Treasurer), Department of Internal Affairs (Archives New Zealand)       
  • Claire Benson (Secretary), Central Agencies Shared Services
  • Philadelphia Jackman (Conference Convener), Ministry of Justice
  • Alice Barnard, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
  • Cecilia Comelli, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
  • Chris McDowell, StatsNZ
  • Hugh Blackstock, Accident Compensation Corporation
  • Kay Jones, Independent Consultant
  • Patrick Power, Ministry of Justice
  • Philip Cade, Ministry of Education
  • Shane Spencer, Inland Revenue


Copyright 2018 by GOVIS Incorporated